Across the fairways

It was smiles all round for the winners and runners up of the delayed Club Warwick RSL April Mid Week Monthly Medal. Pictured below are runner ups in division one and division two respectfully Melanie McLennan and Yvonne Pinington, and division one winner Janine Stewart.

Stanthorpe Golf

Golfers at Stanthorpe played a stroke round on Saturday 18 May, the day also being the second round of four for the club championships.

Jarood Irwin one the day with a stand out score in the men’s event returning a nett 69.

Playing off a handicap of 10, his 79 for the round was only seven over the course par. His scores of recent have been very consistent.

Three players contested the runners-up prize, all returning nett 71. In the end, the count back was in favour of Matt Waterworth leaving Rino Piovesan and Trevor Wren to be rewarded in the run down.

Men’s NTP’s were claimed by Rino Piovesan at 3, Barry Jones at 12 and Matt Waterworth at 17. Approaches, best second shots to the pin, were won by Mick O’Brien at 1/10, Mike McAuliffe at 5/14 and Ric Goodrich at 9/18.

The ladies’ event winner was Helen Jones who returned a nett 77 for the round, just holding out Lisa Stuart who had the same score. As Lisa was the sponsor for the day, she decided to take herself out of the top prize category and settled for the run down. As a result, Nikki Waterworth took runner up prize with a returned score of nett 78. Also in the run down was Mei Bell with a nett 79.

Neta Thouard collected two of the ladies’ NTP’s, at hole 3 and hole 12, Lisa Stuart held the other at 17. Approaches for the ladies went to Lorraine Evans at 2/11 and Linda Kelly at 7/16.

The club championships continue and will conclude next weekend with play on both Saturday for the third round and Sunday for the fourth and final round. Players should note that it is self-nominations for Saturday but expect to be seeded for the final round.

A quick check of scores after two rounds of the championships sees Matt Burgess still leading by the smallest of margins, one shot only, so A grade could be very close. B grade leader is Barry Jones and his consistent scoring should be a big advantage. A couple of near scores could cause some difficulty. In C grade, it would appear that Rod Paye has a good hold on the trophy, but again there are a couple of players hot on his tail.

The ladies’ section of the championships is also a close contest. In first division Lisa Stuart is progressing steadily, second division looks like Neta Thouard could hold the others out and in third div. a single stroke separates the front runners of Lorraine Evans and Linda Kelly.

Saturday 25 May is the third round for the championships and this day is sponsored by Chris Fittock Plumbing and Gas. Sunday 26 May is the final round and sponsors for the stroke event are Alan Kerr and Dale Minchenton.

The club championships are once again being sponsored by Greg and Maria Carey and by the end of play on Sunday, the championship winners in all grades and divisions will be finalised. Best of luck to all the contenders.

photo 1: The ladies’ winners, Helen Jones (inside left) and runner up Nikki Waterworth (inside right) with sponsors David Stuart (left) and Lisa Stuart (right)

photo 2: Sponsor David Stuart (left) Matt Waterworth (centre) and sponsor Lisa Stuart (right)

Warwick Women’s Golf

Wednesday, 8 May, Warwick Women played the April Mid-Week Medal with Division One winner Janine Stewart recording a 68 nett, and Division two Donna Keogh with 73 nett. Runner up in their respective divisions were Melanie McLennan with 71 nett, and Yvonne Pinington with 74 nett. Janine waved her magic putter for division one with only 26 putts, as did Kath in division two also with 26 putts. The Pro pin was won by Margaret Adcock, and shared with Jill Barnes, Di Johnston and Anna Cox.

Saturday 11 May players took to the course to qualify for another Honour Board events, the JD Rowland foursomes.

This event is a gross event to qualify and transitions into Match play once the top four pairs are determined, the format changes to off the stick match play. Saturday Sam Hinze and Anna Cox took the win with a great 88 gross, qualifying in first position. Molly Scotney and Danielle Eldridge 92, Liz Cockram and Narelle Norris 93 and Melanie McLennan and Jill Barnes 93. These made up the top four qualifying teams which advanced to the semifinal on Sunday. The nett winners for the day were Di Evand and Di Macdonald with 73 nett. The runner up team were Majella Kahler and Janine Stewart with 74. The approach on the fifth was won by Margaret and Judy Lester, and on the 13th Danielle and Molly.

Sunday, 12 May, saw the semifinals of the JD Rowland Foursomes, with Anna Cox and Sam Hinze defeating Melanie McLennan and Jill Barnes 2/1, and in the second match Molly Scotney and Danielle Eldridge defeating Liz Cockram and Narelle Norris 2/1. Both great matches, and it could have been any team that won. So, the Final is set down for Saturday May 18, with Sam and Anna to play Danielle and Molly. Interestingly enough, this is the first and second qualifying teams.

Stanthorpe Sporters Golf

By far the coolest morning for some time, some saying it got to zeor degrees early in the day, didn’t deter those who turned out for the nine hole Stanthorpe Sporters golf competition on Sunday 19 May. The club welcomed back Dick Hilton after several Sunday’s absent, so the starters.

A fairly heavy dew on the fairways stopped a lot of run for the golfers making distance difficult. The back nine was in play for the day. John Rawlings used his handicap to good effect and his nett 31 was good enough to win the day.

Ivan Juriss nailed the rest of the prizes as he collected the pin shot at 17 and would have also collected the best gross score on the day 41 for the round.

Sporters will be on again next Sunday 26 May and tee off again at 8.00 am and players are requested to be on time as the club championships will be following later in the morning.

Warwick Sports Golf

There were 62 players in last week’s Stableford game and “Chainsaw” Al Matthews came out on top with 38 points.

On 37 points a count back was needed to separate Jesse Harris and Neil Carney with Jesse taking second spot and Neil relegated to a ball in the run down.

Other run down winners were Jesse Ollerton, Eddie “Big Cods” Kemp, Don Iemeda and Stuey Wade on 36 points. Rounding things out on 35 points were Laurie King, Danny Lyons and David Gengos.

The Pro Pin order of merit was Danny Lyons, Darrell Bain and Mark Simmonds.

Nearest the pins, 5th Barry McKinnon, 7th Bill Jubb, 9th Mark Simmonds, 11th Rob Farrell and 16th Jesse Ollerton.